Look at this poster. Does it not just scream patriotism? And America?

I digress. The tongue in cheek nature that is common in this line of Marvel movies is just as prevalent here. The last in the line of movies leading up to The Avengers (Iron Man, Hulk, and Thor came before it), Captain America tells the story of every classic geek’s fantasy: skinny nerd wants to make something more of himself (and get a girl), gets himself “found” by mad genius scientist, and a few minor procedures later becomes more than he could have ever dreamed.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the movie, however, I felt something lacking in this movie. Maybe it is that we are so saturated with superhero movies? Believe me, the comic lovers in my house (along with my friends) will probably berate me for saying so. The problem stems from the fact that I most enjoy movies driven by plots, stories, and intricate twists. The boys in my house like this as well, but they LOVE the graphics and CGI. This movie has it, in spades. Particularly because for the entire beginning of the movie, Chris Evan’s head is superimposed on a 90 pound weakling’s body. Most of the time you don’t notice, but every once in awhile the head is at a weird angle. After that, the action lovers will not be disappointed either.

Make sure to stay until after the credits (we were the only one’s who did in our theater) for a sneak peak at the new Avengers movie.

Anyone else see this movie? What are your thoughts? Post in the comments below!

Also some coming news: As an affiliate of Fusion Three Productions, I am proud to announce the relaunch of our Empower the Audience blog site in the coming days. We will review movies, television, games, and many other entertainment and tech items. Entries like the one above will at that time be posted in both places. Look here for the official release date!

 

 

 

 

